Introduction

Introduction to my blog

Hello, my name is Philip and I am a student at the University of Southampton studying Economics. This blog has been set up as a part of a module, UOSM2008 – Living and Working on the Web, in which I will be considering topics relating to the online world, including security online, social media and creative commons licensing.

Below is a table representative of my self assessment regarding my usage of the internet on a scale of 1-5, where 1 is very inexperienced/poor and 5 is very experienced/good. I will be revisiting this table at the end of the module to fill in the final two columns.

Rating at start of module Comments Rating at end of module Comments
Accessing, managing and evaluating online information 3 Generally, I would consider myself good at sourcing information, however I could improve how I manage information and store useful links for future reference.
Participating in online communities 2 While I do consume a fair amount of online content, I rarely get too majorly involved with projects or comment sections.
Building online networks around an area of interest 3 I am good at sourcing blogs and websites about things which I am interested in, however as stated above I am not particularly involved in them so could potentially benefit from more networking.
Collaborating with others on shared projects 3 I am involved in many projects I have run online, including using Facebook to co-ordinate activities and even to run events, however I still feel there is more I could be doing to make processes more collaborative.
Creating online materials (text, audio, images, video) 4 While not perfect at it, I have learned to use Adobe Audition through self-teaching. I also have learned a few basics on Premier Pro and Photoshop. I could still significantly improve on these areas though.
Managing your online identity 2 I have a small presence on social media, but could do with broadening my presence online and keeping my presence consistent.
Managing your online privacy and security 3 I tend to put settings towards more privacy, giving out as little information as I can to people who haven’t added me on various forms of social media. However I haven’t done this on every platform.

Q1 Why did you choose the module?

I have an interest in the online world, having been a consumer of online content for a reasonable period of time and I really enjoy the editing work I do. I am very interested in trying to use my skills to develop a career and using the internet to further my platform to show what I can do. I chose this module in order to be able to study key elements of online security and developing an online presence.

Q2 What in particular do you want to learn from the module?

I would like to improve my usage of various platforms to showcase what I am capable of doing in order to help me make a living using the internet as a platform.

Q3 Which degree programme are you studying?

L100 – BSc Economics

Q4 Have you studied online before?

Not entirely online, but I have used the internet to aid other studies and research projects. I also have used online resources to assist with understanding how to use certain software.

Leave a Reply

